lunch at my in-laws’

23 Jul
mmmn, lunch

lunch

Mmn, ca vous donne envie?

This is the un-cooked version.  I just couldn’t resist.  It’s a dish called ‘Andouillette‘.

I’ve got to say that this is one of the only dishes I can’t get myself to enjoy.  Don’t get me wrong, I have been raised well and have of course done the right thing and tried it.  I have tried it many times in fact – each time trying to savour the flavour as much as those around me (not much pressure here – it’s a Frenchie family favourite).  But I’m sorry, everytime I do, I get a certain ‘je ne sais quoi’ flavour.  Actually no, I’m lying.  I know what I taste – and it’s a taste I wouldn’t normally associate with fine cuisine.   Getting me?  Sorry, but it does.  You should smell the fumes when these babies are smoking in the pan.  I thought tripe in Mum and Dad’s pressure cooker was bad.

The first time I ate Andouillette the je-ne-sais-quoi flavour lingered in my mouth well into the following morning (I had brushed my teeth three times).  I was horrified and complained to Benji about the disturbingly bad taste.  “Well, it is half made of shit,” was his answer.

Am I making your mouth water by now?  Look it up and see what’s in it.  It’s a delicacy that, in it’s ‘purest’ (and by this I mean ‘smellier’ version) form, you don’t find often, if ever, outside of France.   Strange.

As I don’t tend to serve this at home, my mother-in-law likes to get some in preparation for her boy’s arrival.  They all laugh at me as they’re tucking into it with dollops of mustard, wondering how on earth I can’t adore this dish.  I can only sit there and make cheap comments on the dish’s obvious aesthetic merits and delightfully heady aromas.  “My poor son!” my mother-in-law consoles… “At least here at your mother’s you can enjoy Andouillette!”

mmmn, andouillette

mmmn, Andouillette

Hungry?

22 Responses to “lunch at my in-laws’”

  1. Nat July 23, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    Agree 100% !!!! Dégueulasse… you can say it !!
    Gros bisous à tous

    • The vigneron's wife July 23, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

      Ah, a Frenchie in the family that doesn’t like them! I don’t feel so bad xo

  2. Marilyne July 23, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    I love andouillettes!!! But then I’m French so that might me the reason.
    My partner who is Dutch love them too… But I’ve never told her what’s inside 🙂
    Applying the same technique for fritons, rillettes, tripes and other delicacies …

    I suppose trust and honesty are the base of a good relationship 😉
    (I’m not completely evil though. She knows it’s something funky, and she knows not knowing is best!)

    • The vigneron's wife July 23, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

      I love the idea of calling such delicacies ‘funky’ Marilyne! – you could almost get me in with that.
      My dad used to serve up crumbed lamb brains and tell me it was a meat pattie (like a hamburger). The minute I chewed into the white squish I knew he was lying!
      I’m glad to hear you enjoy Andouillette – I would love to think I could, but I still can’t get my nose and tastebuds around that taste.

      • Marilyne July 25, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

        Mm … crumbed lamb brain ? OK… not sure I would try those!
        (Just checked funky in the dictionary and so yes funky in all meanings of the word)
        By the way, thanks for your blog – I love the way you see the Minervois… Great for when I’m homesick!!

      • The vigneron's wife July 30, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

        Thanks a lot Marilyne, I’m glad you’re enjoying it!

  3. Simon Fisher July 23, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    One time driving back from Switzerland with the kids we only had a few francs left when we stopped to feed them at a services. We ordered what we thought were sausages and chips. It was Andouillette. Needless to say the kids ate the chips……….

    • The vigneron's wife July 23, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

      …and Dad polished off the sausage?
      Come on Simon, I’m sure you’re a connoisseur from way back.

  4. Kevin Jacklin July 23, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    Kat,
    Does that mean you won’t be cooking it for us when we pop in to see you in September?
    Shame! (or lucky result!)
    Kev

    • The vigneron's wife July 23, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

      Look Kev, if it is your greatest desire, we can serve it up. You would make Benjamin’s day having that at home with you guys!

      • Kevin July 27, 2012 at 2:17 am #

        I don’t think we should deprive Benji’s Mum of cooking her son his favourite dish so I/we will have to wait until the next time we visit.
        Ps – I hope you’ve had a very happy birthday!!!

      • The vigneron's wife July 30, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

        this is an andouillette-free zone in the Languedoc (our house anyway!) Kevin! And thanks, I had a cool birthday.
        a bientot!

  5. Howie July 24, 2012 at 12:09 am #

    That just looks all wrong, so can’t imagine the taste would be great. And kat your the adventurous one when it comes to the palette!

    • The vigneron's wife July 24, 2012 at 12:15 am #

      Yeah How, the look is something! I’ve been trying… xo

      • The vigneron's wife July 24, 2012 at 12:17 am #

        and woohoo, you’ve given me a first! – a comment from Barbados!

  6. Minnie July 24, 2012 at 9:28 am #

    Is the Adelaide equivalent fritz?

    • The vigneron's wife July 24, 2012 at 9:34 am #

      you’ve reminded me of my love affair with fritz! but nah, fritz is far prettier! xo

  7. Hervé July 24, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    It’s funny. I love andouillettes…it’s so good but my wife (who is american) thinks exactly like you. Who cares ? It’s more for us 😉

    • The vigneron's wife July 24, 2012 at 9:46 am #

      Thanks Herve, you could say we’re being generous!
      I think people at the table would be annoyed if I suddenly starting taking my share.

  8. Soir July 29, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

    Your food photography is fabulous Kat…I think I can almost smell it

    • The vigneron's wife July 30, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

      You wouldn’t like the smell of those long ones Soir, trust me!
      – but merci mon amie!

  9. Pinto October 12, 2013 at 6:43 am #

    pênis.
    Isso é pinto cozido. (português-Brazil)

Leave a Reply

